Spring Shopping

On a rainy April Sunday, I decided to take my 14-year old niece shopping.

I was hit with the realization during this shoot how much of a woman she has become – physically and intellectually. My niece still has a lot of learning to do, but these changes have reflected the transformation that has started. How bittersweet…

(My husband is convinced that she is going to be breaking a lot of hearts.)

First up, we have the lace romper!

IMG_4073

This lace V-neck romper was priced at 34.99 at Charlotte Russe. It was purchased at their promotional price that day for dresses at $25.

**Currently, their online site has 30% off site wide with $1 shipping on all orders. 

**TIP: If you are not already subscribed, giving your email at the register, you will receive 20% on your entire purchase in-store or online. Valid for 30 days.

This was paired with a strappy cami tank top to keep the low v-neck demure for my 14 year old niece. (You can find more color selection in-store.) **Currently priced at 5.25. Purchased for 7.50. Otherwise, Charlotte offers 2 for $12 in-store.

The Lace V-Neck Romper can be found in plus size as well and is available online only in plus. The romper is most likely going to be found in all sizes in-store.

I usually steer away from all-lace clothing because I relate it to cheaper quality clothing. I identify lace in retail as mass produced fancy wear targeted for casual wear. It’s too much. BUT, with this lace romper, I thought to myself that this could work. It’s girly with a pop of fun. The romper is modern and the v-neck is tasteful. Additionally, the lace adds a girly flair with the pastel blue being perfect for spring.

When my niece slipped it on in the fitting room, it was like it was made just for her. Even she knew she looked good.

IMG_4065
This outfit was paired with metallic silver lace-up ballet flats from Banana Republic. I believe they were on clearance for $20 as they were purchased in the past 2-3 years.

Second up! The pink midi dress.

IMG_4097-Edit

I scavenged through the clearance section at Express, hoping to find a hidden gem. As I handed over pieces over to my niece and she declined each piece I gave her, I saw this dress. It was 30% off dresses that day, and I came prepared with my coupon of 15 off of 30.

The ribbed sheer midi dress is priced at 49.90. The promotional price that day was 34.93. Taking off 15.00, the final total came to 19.93 (without tax).

**TIP: If you are not already subscribed, giving your email at the register, you will receive 20% on your entire purchase in-store or online. Valid for 30 days and coupon is not valid on clearance items.

She tried it on and she was in love. Please note, she doesn’t like dresses and she doesn’t like fitted clothing.

This dress was originally meant for me. Yes, I made her try on clothes that I wanted but didn’t want to take the time to try on. 😛

I love midi dresses. They’re flirty and demure. The v-neck on this dress is on the front and back. I love that it shows some skin but isn’t so uncomfortably revealing.

IMG_4110
Lip color is Anastasia Beverly Hill’s liquid lipstick in Electric Coral.

As you can see, this dress is a bit see-through and hugs the curves. So if you feel self-conscious, you might want to pass on this dress if you’re not willing to wear spanx to smooth out the ripples.

I hope you take advantage of the warm weather pieces coming out this season.

May is a beautiful month for spring cleaning and shopping. Until next week!

 

 

Leave a Reply

